Archive for May 6th, 2009

h1

Worthy of holding the gun

May 6, 2009

For awhile in my life, I thought I was going to be a police officer. I am so grateful God steered me away from that vocation. I can barely handle the drama of life inside a church let alone things like domestic violence or other issues our law enforcement faces. It also turns out I’m color blind, so if I suddenly had to “cut the blue wire” or shoot at the guy in the green jacket, well, there could be some fallout.

One of the scariest things to me about a police officer I don’t know, is that they are human, capable of corruption, greed and evil. People who may have even started out with good intentions, but over the year’s maybe began to use their badge and gun for their own gain. (I know, I watch too many movies).

But a good person, a trustworthy person, an honorable person holding the power of that gun, is a good thing, and I thank God that many good men and women serve in that role for the betterment of our society.

Because I believe in Christ, I believe in the power of the Holy Spirit. I believe He is far more powerful than any gun or weapon man can create. And I often wonder why I don’t see or witness or am unable to tap into this power more. The same power that raised Christ from the dead, that lives in me.

Today I was reading Acts 3.  I read about how Peter and John used the Holy Spirit’s power to heal a crippled man. There were people gathered around, just staring at Peter in amazement, jaws dropped, floored by the power they had just witnessed. Peter could have said, “Thank you very much, I’ll be here all week.” Or, “I’m not a hero folks, just doing my job.” He could have soaked in the moment, reveled in his own righteousness, patted himself on the back and savored a little of the glory of the moment. But he didn’t. In fact he said, “Brothers, why do you stare at us as if by our own power or godliness we had made this man walk? By faith in the name of Jesus, this man whom you see and know was made strong. It is Jesus’ name and the faith that comes through him that has given this complete healing to him, as you can all see.”

I think often times the Holy Spirit’s power is not manifested in me, because I want it for the wrong reasons. I would be like a crooked cop with a gun, not knowing how to use that type of force to benefit others, but only wanting selfish gain.

Peter didn’t want the glory, he truly wanted Christ to have it, and was therefore worthy of using it.

“God, please give me a heart that only wants Your glory to shine, and make me someone worthy of your Holy Spirit’s power.”