h1

Give Me Your Eyes

February 13, 2009

 

A leader walks a fine balance between what is good for the church to hear and what he needs to protect them from. I feel compelled to write at a level that comes up to the line today.

I believe our church is bleeding right now.

*I say that in part from just an obvious no duh at the state of our economy, and how it has rocked so many people in our community. I couldn’t begin to tell you all the stories I have heard lately, where the overwhelming theme is people are shaken up, uncertain, dealing with loss of jobs, potential loss of jobs, bankruptcy etc.

*I say it from the fact of honestly in my life time I personally have never seen more marriages in trouble, ending, near the brink, or on life support.

*I say it from the fact that there is a massive amount of turnover at this church. Massive. We have recently started using a system here called F1, that tracks attendance, members etc, and the truth is that while Sunset has a big front door, it has a huge back door. If the church is a family, a community, this one keeps getting new dad’s, new mom’s, new brothers and sister’s, and losing precious old ones.

There has been a lot of talk lately among the leaders here, about this back door, about this reality.

I think one of the reasons we have a huge back door, is we don’t care for each other. And let me start with me. The two main reasons I don’t care for others well, is because of my own laziness, and my own selfishness. I battle these two things in my ministry when it comes to loving others more than anything else. The job, the tasks, can easily, without a lot of thought, become the main thing, and people fall through the cracks and become 2nd on the list. But I suspect I’m not alone. We are a church that talks a lot about wanting to reach out, love those outside our walls, to reach out into our community. I don’t think we can do that till we really start loving our own.

This weekend we are singing a song called, “Give me Your Eyes”.

The chorus reads

Give me Your eyes for just one second

Give me Your eyes so I can see

Everything that I keep missing

Give me Your love for humanity

Give me Your arms for the broken hearted

The ones that are far beyond my reach

Give me your heart for the ones forgotten

Give me your eyes so I can see

I’m convinced that should I continue to work at a church this is one of the main things God is going to continue to refine in me over the years, the importance of people.

What about you? If you are like me, sometimes the immensity of the need, of the hurt and void that exists in this community, overwhelms me and causes me to do nothing. But what if we started small, with one person, this week, who we let God prompt us to reach out to in some small way? To let them know we are thinking about them, and that we care?

Give us Your eyes Lord.

5 comments

  1. That’s cool you’re using that song in service. Great thoughts and words Jay. Thanks for sharing.


  2. Thank you for this, Jay.


  3. I know that there are a lot of hurting people in our church and our community. I’ve been one of them. I attended Sunset for 5 years before anyone really knew who I was. Part of the responsibility lies with the church, but the bulk of it lied with me. Once I really made a decision to allow God to work, the doors started opening. And one of the biggest doors opened for me when someone on your team stepped outside of herself to introduce herself and reach out to me. I think it’s really good to evaluate things, but there is balance to everything. How much are trusting God to work and opening ourselves up to be used by Him according to His purpose and not what we think or feel should happen? His ways and desires are higher than ours. If we give Him our very best, and sincerely ask Him to give us His Eyes…He will. It’s a promise.


  4. As April said, someone reached out to her. This made all the difference, and that one, simple connection cemented her relationship with Sunset. The key is reaching out of your comfort zone (worship ministry) and establishing those bonds. People will be loyal to Sunset when the feel they are seen and heard, and valued. Not just a handshake 5 minutes before the service starts. As leaders at Sunset, it falls upon you, Ron, and the others to do this.. to be as approachable as possible, and to genuinely engage the congregation. Reading your comments, it sounds like you get it, and recognize this needs to happen, so keep at it Jay! You’re heading the right direction!!

    Kirk


  5. The “drama” really made me understand more what the words to the song meant. I;ve always love the way the song sounds, but hadn’t really understood the true meaning. Thanks….I will be looking around me for someone who needs a friend, a helping hand, a word of kindness. I know that I’ve felt alone sometimes at Sunset – I’ve been attending for a year – but I’ve had to put myself out there as well to meet people & now feel more part of the family.



Leave a Reply

