Archive for November 21st, 2008

h1

when friends suffer

November 21, 2008

7-13-07 003

Last night I went to my best friend's sister's memorial service.  Gretta died tragically while on vacation in Mexico last week, accidentally falling off a balcony.  She was 36.

I have known Ace since junior high.  I can't really explain the soul connection I have with Ace, but I wish I could.  I literally am tearing up right now trying to find the words. 

Its not even that Ace and I have kept in really close contact over the years.  We live minutes from each other, but sometimes will go months without seeing each other.  But there is no drop off with Ace.  The second we see each other, we are as comfortable around one another as we were in high school.  And I truly love him.

He is the kind of friend who without question could call me at 3 in the morning, and I would be there for him, to help him or his family in anyway.

And so to be there yesterday for me, to watch him cry, and mourn his sister's death, so hard to describe the emotion. 

I thank God for friends like Ace in my life.  I am a better person just for being able to count him as my friend.  And I hate knowing he and his family are suffering right now.

