h1

Management Team Recap

October 29, 2008

 

management team pic

What is management team?  It is a small group of people that are on Ron’s team to help fulfill the mission and vision of our church.  Some of you will find this stuff boring, others will probably be curious to know what happens in meetings like this. My main goal in posting these weekly meetings is communication. It’s easy to take shots at a “committee” making secret decisions with a secret agenda. It’s much more healthy to open up the dialogue to the people we are serving. That really is the point of this team,  to serve our congregation and our community. I wish we could change the name to Servant Team or something similar! Your feedback and comments are welcome!!

The team includes Ron, myself, Barb Fiel, Mike Matousek, Eric Venable, and Beth Werner.

Sometimes we get to talk about really engaging things, how to reach people for Christ better, how to serve our teams better, love more etc.  Other times we get to talk about things like, Policy Manuals!!  Oh joy 🙂  Today was one of those days.  Truthfully though we have to care about this type of thing, other wise why should the staff?  So we have been going through it line by line for the last couple of weeks, it very large!

Here are some highlights, I’ll keep it brief for you!  These are random conversation that came from different topics in our current policy manual, about to be approved by our session.

*We are looking at what each of our staff is “classified” under because from an HR standpoint, there are certain laws we need to abide to when it comes to exempt/non exempt, benefits, vacations etc, and this changes if you are a pastor/director/admin/managment team etc.  So we are in the process of making sure we know what everyone is and why, particularly so we can adhere to the law when it comes to how we are compensating our staff.

*When you work at a church (or anywhere) there is always a tension between how much there is to do and how much you expect of both paid staff and volunteers.  Sometimes under the guise of “ministry”, people can be taken advantage of, and the burn out rate is high.  We discuss on this team of ways of protecting both paid and unpaid people who serve at Sunset. 

*This reality has been raised to the service as we are gearing up to begin a 3rd service in January, with far less staff and resources than we had a year ago.  We are relying on God’s wisdom, provision and creativity to go this direction that we feel God calling us to.  We believe He will provide, and has already begun to do so in amazing ways, but the tension of protecting boundaries and managing well will continue to be there.

*We discussed the practice of blogging at our church, and particularly about any political issues.  The consensus is that blogging on political issues on staff should be avoided, because as a non-profit that status could be threatened if political blogs are done on church time or with church equipment. 

*Most pastors have an expense account, so we discussed what is above board in our use of these, and how they can glorify God and be good for the church in our use of them.

Are you still here?  Those were the most interesting things I could summarize.  Generally when I post one of these I get somewhere around 0 responses, so if you are still reading you are probably the only one on my site right now. 🙂 

6 comments

  1. I read. I guess since I’m interested in all the details I ended up reading the whole thing. There are too many little things that HAVE to be taken care of in ministry that folks just don’t have a clue about.


  2. Hey friend, I read every word of your blog no matter what the topic. I’m a detail person as you know and understanding what goes on behind the scenes in ministry is important and interesting to me. Thanks for sharing. Ministry is the best and the hardest career/calling there is. Thanks for educating me as I pursue that path (God’s will of course).


  3. Well Jay, I read the whole blog, and I wish that I could go to some of those meetings, as I LOVE those kind, where I could have my imput heard. Some of the topics you discussed, I have oponions, that would be interesting if I am in the right or not. That is one of my frustrations, that at my church, things are not as open as you are making them at Sunset. Maybe most people don’t care, but for the ones who do, this is most helpful. Bob


  4. I savored reading the whole blog and feel it translates well to the volunteer staff as well. What is discussed and decided in the meetings, reflects decisions/behavoirs we need to be mindful of, as volunteers, as well. Please post after each meeting. Great food for thought!


  5. you KNOW i totally dig that kind thing! more details! more details!!

    you know… maybe you guys could auction off a guest seat in MT and the money raised go go towards Food and Toy? I’d TOTALLY bid on that!


  6. and i would bid on watching Jos in MT.
    I love that you are posting notes from MT. Thanks for having the discipline this requires! and for rep’ing us on the team.



Leave a Reply

