h1

Spiders and blessings

June 15, 2008

Tonight I went to spend father’s day with some of my family.  My mom and dad are house sitting at this awesome place out by Oxbow Park, and they had these flowers at their house that have these white spiders on it that catch bees with their arms, no web.  This is a picture of it, that little white spot is the spider, and it is chowing down on a bee it just caught. Pretty amazing!

6-15-08 017

The book I am reading pictured to the left on my blog, Building Faith at Home, had a chapter on giving a blessing to your children every night.  I have been saying a blessing to Macy and Ava every night.  When I told Allison about it and what I was saying, she shared with me that she had been doing the same thing every night on her own for most of Ava’s life.  I love my wife! Tonight Macy came up to me right before bed and say "Daddy, can I have my blessing now?"  Too cool.  Here is what I say to her (and Ava) with all the meaning and passion I can.

"Macy, may the Lord continue to bless you and keep you, May the Lord continue to make His face shine on you and be gracious to you. May the Lord continue to look upon you with favor and give you peace."

"Macy may you be a dangerous Christ follower. In the name of the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit. I love you. Amen."

6-15-08 012

4 comments

  1. That is so awesome. I usually just sing, but I might need to add some of this.


  2. Yes!!


  3. Wow. That choked me up. What an amazing gift to give them.


  4. Jay…thanks for the book recommendation and the Daddy inspiration.

    You’re an awesome Dad & husband. I love the transparency with which you write, and the story-telling analogies in which you contextualize and share your thoughts. That’s really a gift.

    jls



Leave a Reply

