h1

can I walk the walk?

May 7, 2008

As a minister at a church, I write a lot of spiritual stuff.  I say a lot of spiritual sounding things from the platform through a microphone.  Don’t get me wrong, I believe it, that’s why I write it, and that’s why I say it.

Its one thing to talk and write, its a whole other ball game to act out the things I profess.  Professing with actions vs professing with words.

Suddenly in my life I find myself facing new challenges, new levels of difficulty.  As I deal with the emotions that come with challenges, emotions like anxiety, worry, pride etc, I hear my own voice in my head.  I hear myself saying the things I have said from the platform or written in a journal.  And now I wonder, will I walk the walk?  Will I really do what I counsel others to do?  Depend on Jesus?  Focus on just obeying Him instead of my circumstances?  Trust Him?  Love others? 

So much easier said than done.  Only Christ in me.

2 comments

  1. love this post… and i know people usually only comment on the goofy ones… so i want you to know i read this and love that you share the battle and the journey with us.


  2. Just keep being genuine, humble and real.
    Love you Bro



Leave a Reply

