h1

Two Truths and a lie

April 30, 2008

I love this game.  You have everyone submit on paper two truths about themselves, and one lie, and then you have to vote on who you think wrote it, and what the lie is.  Very fun ice breaker, highly recommend it.  The trick is to come up with OUTLANDISH things in your life that are true, and something boring that is fake.

Ex.

*I was attacked and mauled by a duck at the age of 5. (true)

*I wet the bed sporadically far too long into my teens. (sadly, true)

*I don’t like ice cream.  (boring, and false, and would definately give it away that it was me trying to bluff)

Right now I am reading a book by Josh Harris called Not even a hint.  It’s all about the battle of lust we each face, men AND women.  Today’s chapter was all about combating the lies of lust with the truth of scripture.  Instead of just trying to plug our ears and close our eyes when lust rears itself and shouting "I can’t hear you I don’t see you la la la la", combating it with truth from God’s Word.  His list of lies verses the truth was LONG.  I will list a few of my favorites.  I highly recommend the book, both it AND the Bible! in this worth while struggle!

Lie: Lust is no big deal

Truth Job 31:11-12 

For lust is a sinful shame, a crime that should be punished. It is a devastating fire that destroys to hell. It would wipe out everything I own.

 

Lie: A little sinful fantasizing won’t hurt.

Truth: To set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the spirit is life and peace. Rom 8:6

Truth: Gal 6:7-8 Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap. For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life.

Truth: But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires. Rom 13:14

Lie: The pleasure lust promises is better and more real than God’s pleasure

Truth: You have made known to me the path of life: you will fill me joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand. (Ps 16:11)

Lie: Fulfilling my lust will satisfy me

Truth, “I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him”, The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord (Lam 3:24-26)

Lie: Too much purity will keep me from seeing and enjoying beauty.

Truth: Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God (Matt 5:8)

Truth: For the Lord is righteous, he loves righteous deeds, the upright shall behold his face. (Ps 11:7)

Truth: Your eyes will behold the king in his beauty; they will see a land that stretches afar. (Is 33:17)

2 comments

  1. I love the game, too…and I love you. Great post, babe. I’m so proud to be your wife.


  2. Jay,

    great post. It actually makes me want to go out and get that book (I was a little Joshua Harris’d out after ‘I Kissed Dating Goodbye’). Thanks for sharing.



Leave a Reply

