h1

Whose your Joe?

April 25, 2008

I used to work in construction, and one of my foremen was Joe. Joe and I did not click. I dreaded going to work nearly every day if I knew I was going to be working for him. He had a very skillful way of making me feel stupid. I was a teenager so maybe I just was. I worked so hard trying to please him, to gain his approval, but never could. It got so frustrating on one occasion, that in the middle of the day I had decided I’d had enough and I walked off the job. Since I needed the money and had nowhere else to work, I had to come back the next day. Ya, that was awkward.

Do you have a Joe right now in your life? What are you going to do about it? Walk off the job? Walk off the team? Did Jesus know about Joe when he said this?

John 17:21 I pray that they will all be one, just as you and I are one—as you are in me, Father, and I am in you.

22 “I have given them the glory you gave me, so they may be one as we are one. 23 I am in them and you are in me. May they experience such perfect unity that the world will know that you sent me and that you love them as much as you love me.

While I do remember trying to work hard for Joe, I don’t remember praying for Joe. I don’t remember reaching out to him or caring about him or his life or story. It was all about me, my feelings, and what I deserved.

I can’t go back, and neither can you, but I’m willing to bet both you and I will have another Joe in our life that we will have the chance to explore this whole unity thing with.

Leave a Reply

