h1

I don’t like Easter

March 20, 2008

O.K. so that was partly for shock value.  The truth is I don’t like what the word Easter conjures up in my mind.  Seriously, the first image I see is a plastic egg and a cheap chocolate bunny.   The very word Easter bugs me for some reason.   I would love to rename this holiday.  Something more like “LIFE” day, or anything that points to something deeper than those Cadbury eggs that tempt me at every grocery line.

I look out my window at the cars passing by, and try with my imagination and everything I know to be true, to somehow grasp the reality of God becoming man, dying for me, and coming back to life.  But it’s hard.   We have to try though.  Two words of Christ that haunt me every time I read them or hear them, are “Remember me”.  Jesus knew that in 2008, it would be hard to grasp the reality of what happened on that weekend a couple thousand years ago.   

Someday soon, it will no longer be about trying to remember.   Someday soon Jesus will be on earth again, in the flesh, like he was.   For now though, and especially over this weekend, we do our best to honor what Jesus asked, and we remember. 

Isaiah 46:9
Remember the things I have done in the past. For I alone am God! I am God, and there is none like me.

2 comments

  1. I enjoyed the bunny plates. I’m so excited to jam with Jesus in heaven.


  2. Oh yeah….I like to poop.



Leave a Reply

