h1

The Sacrament of the Present Moment

December 14, 2007

I just recently watched a movie called Next with Nicholas Cage.   The premise of the movie was that he could see 2 minutes into the future…anything that related to or would affect him.   I rented it because I have liked Nicholas Cage ever since Honeymoon in Vegas many many years ago.  He makes me laugh.  I’m not as keen on him as an action hero…but I was pleasantly surprised with this movies ability to keep me engaged.

I often live my life like that….always in the future…always about what I will do tomorrow…or next week…or next year.    Right now I’m learning that God is not waiting for me in the future…in tomorrow..in next week, or next year.   He is waiting for me right now, in this moment.  This is the moment where God longs to connect with me, always here, in the present. It’s here, in the present that God wants me to make decisions for Him..to listen for His voice…to reach out to others.  Sounds like a no duh, but its revolutionary when you consider it.   An excellent book that dives into this concept is John Ortberg’s "God is closer than you think". 

So what about you?  Stuck in the past?  God is not waiting for you there.  Waiting till tomorrow to meet with God?  He’s not there either…He is in this moment, right here, right now.   It’s not about “seizing” the moment, it’s about living with God in the moment, and it could change your life.

Hebrews 3:15a
15As has just been said:
   "Today, if you hear his voice,
      do not harden your hearts

One comment

  1. jen and i saw that movie. we were pleasantly surprised.

    Being that i’m a die hard procrastinator, i find myself living in the moment all the time. Just not living it up to the potential of the moment. Just trying to to get ahead so that i can take time to be still. (or is that a never ending battle?) 🙂



Leave a Reply

