h1

WE ARE ALL WITNESSES

June 7, 2007

James_banner_254This 10 story banner hangs in Ohio…the caption, "WE ARE ALL WITNESSES".

The entire state of Ohio is riding a wave of momentum otherwise known as King James.  Lebron James.  In a short amount of time, his presence on the basketball court has unified a city.  Tonight is game one of the NBA finals…and all eyes are on Lebron to see if he can stop the dynasty that is the Spurs.

Before I turn the corner and go all spiritual on this post…please know…I LOVE LEBRON JAMES!!  I totally hope he silences everyone and pulls off a miracle and is able to win this series….I too am a witness out here in Portland OR.

But I also can’t help seeing those words…"WE ARE ALL WITNESSES"….can’t help observing the momentum and craze and discussions and time and energy that surrounds this man….and long for the same towards a much more worthy cause.  For we are all witnesses of another man as well, the true King, King Jesus.  And as awesome as King James is…and he is awesome….he can’t hold a candle to the King of Kings and Lord of Lords. 

And as I sit behind my computer and write these words…I wonder what holds me back from sharing the awesomeness of Christ as easily as I talk about the talent of Lebron James.  Jesus has turned my life around, my marriage around, my heart around, my eternity around.  And yet I let the political correctness of my day and age, my fear of being labeled "religious" or "right wing nut" or whatever, clam up my mouth to the fact that Jesus is AMAZING….and should be proclaimed on 10 story buildings everywhere.   

I want to be like Paul…who said…"I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me, the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace." (Acts 20:24)

WE ARE ALL WITNESSES

3 comments

  1. Funny how that works. Certain conversations can be so easy, and others that shouldn’t end up so hard.


  2. GO LEBRON!!!! FOR THE NEXT THREE GAMES!! And then we’ll just see how the little Spurs feel.


  3. Sorry about that Lebron outburst. The rest of your blog wasn’t lost on me. I also wonder how it is SO easy to talk about some things, and then I clam up when the time comes to talk about THE MOST IMPORTANT THING IN THE WORLD! It’s quite humbling.



Leave a Reply

