h1

So close….

February 9, 2007

Images_1Images_2

I came SO close to drinking my first Diet Coke in almost 5 months tonight.  My goal has been to make it one year.   Tonight…I had it poured..in a glass, filled with ice.  The fizz and bubbles threatened to run over the side.  I could smell the clean, crisp, bite of the silver bullet other wise known as Diet Coke filling the air and my senses.  I had all but taken my first drink when my wife realized what I was doing and began to try and talk me out of it.  She was quite cute actually…telling me how I would regret it in the morning and that if I didn’t I’d be thanking her…and that I should call a friend and ask if I really should…and on and on.

I have been in a contest with Donna Kennish, a co-worker at the church..and I kid you not…as I was holding the glass trying to pry it away from my wife….my phone rang…and it was Donna, calling about something else at work…but man her timing was uncanny.

Long story short…I didn’t drink it, but boy was I close.

14 comments

  1. Proud of you, babe…YOU CAN DO IT!!!!


  2. Pop is evil. Shoot the hostage.


  3. Are you KIDDING?? She actally called right at the moment?? There are no coincidences… ponder that deep thought.


  4. Are you KIDDING?? She actally called right at the moment?? There are no coincidences… ponder that deep thought.


  5. Wow! That’s funny. Wish I was there for that.


  6. your wife was right… you’d be really sorry about it this morning.


  7. Way to hang in there Jay! I’m 40 days without a Diet Coke…….perhaps we should remove the temptations from our home for those week moments? We could store them at Kim and Dallas’…..no way I would ask them for one in a vulnerable moment!


  8. You are weak and powerless Jay.

    Keep up the good work :p

    Michael


  9. You are weak and powerless Jay.

    Keep up the good work :p

    Michael


  10. What bad timing:(


  11. Way to G-O, Jay!! I was a Coke addict (ooh, that sounds bad), and I never thought in a million years that I could stop. Then my brother Jim gave me some information about what exactly was happening in my stomach each time I drank my Coke, so I decided to TRY to quit. It was amazing when I actually was able to say I had gone a whole week without it……. then a month ……. then a whole year! ……and now almost 3 years! You can do it for sure!!


  12. I just like to settle for sparkling blueberry juice, I love it more than pop!

    By the way your daughter Macy looks very cute in her glasses.

    Love your new profile picture!

    I have a new blog I started at shoutlife. It’s a christian place for people who would like to blog with out having to put up with spam or safety prodacalls. I joined to see if I would like it or not and the results are 100% from me.

    It’s kind of like myspace where you can post music, videos, and photos, etc, but with out all the worldly junk. I’m very pleased with shoutlife.

    Here’s my blog http://www.shoutlife.com/Esthersworld

    God bless your day, Hope to see you soon sometime,

    -Esther


  13. dude… would you put up a new blog already.


  14. Yeah, I agree! ~ new post! How about a confessiom post…



Leave a Reply

