h1

Random topic Friday-The Gym

November 24, 2006

My friend  Matt usually has Friday funnies on his blog.  This won’t be Friday funnies, but it is random topic Friday.  Today’s random topic?  The Gym.

Dumbell 

I’m your typical 2 weeks on, 1 months off gym attender.  There are some things I love about the gym and some things I hate.  I will list the top 10 of each.

Top ten things I love about the Gym.

#1.  Just showing up somehow makes me feel healthier for like 10 minutes at least.

#2.  Seeing people more out of shape then me. (Shallow but true)

#3.  They have really good food and since its at the gym it has to be good for you. 

#4.  Wow…I just realized there’s not ten things I love about the gym.  Guess I’ll have to move to the top ten things I hate. 

TOP TEN THINGS I HATE ABOUT THE GYM

#1.  Feeling guilty for not going.

#2.  Seeing people more in shape than me.  (Shallow but true)

#3.  It takes like 10 minutes to get there.  How inconvenient!

#4.  2 weeks on and one month off doesn’t seem to work.

#5.  See  Matt’s blog on spandex.

#6. Please, do review #5.

#7. There’s way too many mirrors.  I really don’t need a reminder that my shirt is having a hard time covering the bottom of my gut when I lift my hands above my head.

#8.   Seeing the people that are always so consistent, and hearing the inevitable,  "Haven’t see you in here in a while." 

#9.  I’m 32 and still haven’t really embraced the whole community shower concept.

#10.   Big men who use little deodorant.  Bad combination.

I would love to hear your top reason you love or hate the gym.

2 comments

  1. LOL…great lists! If I wasn’t reading this on my phone I would put up a top ten for sure. I’ll do it later, but ironically I’m getting ready to go to the gym so it will be later tonight.


  2. The people who own those gyms love you, Jay, almost as much as the people who join and *never* show up!

    I really hate the gym … working out on that equipment, becoming an organic element of a huge machine… something rather Kafka-esque about it.

    But I shouldn’t complain. For all the miles I have run this year, I have not worked out enough on my core and upper body, so I am wimpy and flabby up there.



Leave a Reply

h1

Random topic Friday-The Gym

November 24, 2006

My friend  Matt usually has Friday funnies on his blog.  This won’t be Friday funnies, but it is random topic Friday.  Today’s random topic?  The Gym.

Dumbell 

I’m your typical 2 weeks on, 1 months off gym attender.  There are some things I love about the gym and some things I hate.  I will list the top 10 of each.

Top ten things I love about the Gym.

#1.  Just showing up somehow makes me feel healthier for like 10 minutes at least.

#2.  Seeing people more out of shape then me. (Shallow but true)

#3.  They have really good food and since its at the gym it has to be good for you. 

#4.  Wow…I just realized there’s not ten things I love about the gym.  Guess I’ll have to move to the top ten things I hate. 

TOP TEN THINGS I HATE ABOUT THE GYM

#1.  Feeling guilty for not going.

#2.  Seeing people more in shape than me.  (Shallow but true)

#3.  It takes like 10 minutes to get there.  How inconvenient!

#4.  2 weeks on and one month off doesn’t seem to work.

#5.  See  Matt’s blog on spandex.

#6. Please, do review #5.

#7. There’s way too many mirrors.  I really don’t need a reminder that my shirt is having a hard time covering the bottom of my gut when I lift my hands above my head.

#8.   Seeing the people that are always so consistent, and hearing the inevitable,  "Haven’t see you in here in a while." 

#9.  I’m 32 and still haven’t really embraced the whole community shower concept.

#10.   Big men who use little deodorant.  Bad combination.

I would love to hear your top reason you love or hate the gym.

5 comments

  1. LOL…great lists! If I wasn’t reading this on my phone I would put up a top ten for sure. I’ll do it later, but ironically I’m getting ready to go to the gym so it will be later tonight.


  2. And…I’m back. Still on the phone though. Since I’m straight out of the gym I thought I’d post my top thre likes and dislikes.

    LIKES
    1. The feeling, however false it may be, that I ran off more calories than I ate yesterday.

    2. Showing up for a swim and finding the pool totally empty! Bliss!

    3. Having my non-iPod on shuffle, and then having the perfect song come on just when I’m getting tired and need a boost.

    DISLIKES

    1. Spandex. Seriously folks, just stop. There was a pretty fit guy wearing head to toe spandex two treadmills down from me tonight. Not good.

    2. Showing up for a swim and finding the pool totally full. Ugh! Almost more aggravating than spandex.

    3. Perfume. Why oh why must people wear fragrance to the gym? If I wanted to work out in a ea of floral vomit I would go jog in place at Bath and Body Works.


  3. And…I’m back. Still on the phone though. Since I’m straight out of the gym I thought I’d post my top thre likes and dislikes.

    LIKES
    1. The feeling, however false it may be, that I ran off more calories than I ate yesterday.

    2. Showing up for a swim and finding the pool totally empty! Bliss!

    3. Having my non-iPod on shuffle, and then having the perfect song come on just when I’m getting tired and need a boost.

    DISLIKES

    1. Spandex. Seriously folks, just stop. There was a pretty fit guy wearing head to toe spandex two treadmills down from me tonight. Not good.

    2. Showing up for a swim and finding the pool totally full. Ugh! Almost more aggravating than spandex.

    3. Perfume. Why oh why must people wear fragrance to the gym? If I wanted to work out in a sea of floral vomit I would go jog in place at Bath and Body Works.


  4. The people who own those gyms love you, Jay, almost as much as the people who join and *never* show up!

    I really hate the gym … working out on that equipment, becoming an organic element of a huge machine… something rather Kafka-esque about it.

    But I shouldn’t complain. For all the miles I have run this year, I have not worked out enough on my core and upper body, so I am wimpy and flabby up there.


  5. My favorite–the Sauna. Mmm toasty!



Leave a Reply

