h1

POP UPDATE

November 19, 2006

Coke

On September 20th I blogged that I was going to stop drinking soda pop for one year.  Today marks the two month anniversary of that statement.  And I’m still sober. 

Here are some of the comments I received on that initial post.

*I believe in you, Jay… I think you’ll make it for… the very minimum… 1.5 months.

*I believe in you too Jay…I think you’ll cave the day before Donna does:)

*Uhhh…I give you until Tomorrow night when we all arrive at the beach.

🙂 We’ll bring the Diet Coke 🙂 and the freezer cups to make it slushy 🙂

*I love you like a brother…but I have $5 against you. Sorry man. I play the odds. 😉

*i was going to comment but i figure this game is already over and another has begun.

*Wow, you got dogged before you even started! Maybe everyone is playing reverse psychology on you and they really want you to win so are trying to make it sound like you won’t to motivate you to stick it out. I’d like to refer you back to Jesus. Doesn’t it say someplace in the Bible that nothing is impossible with God?

Here is an example of the encouragement I’m looking for.

Way to go Jay!  Hang in there!  You can do it!  We knew you could!  Its just like you to stick with something! 

10 months to go. 

17 comments

  1. I believe in you brother 🙂 Now go get a Diet Coke and rub it on your head.

    10 MONTHS TO GO!


  2. I know BOTH of you will make it! You guys have had difficult situations where I know you needed your fix, but you never caved. I’m proud of BOTH of you – and in an effort to support you, I will bring in my big pitcher and brew up a batch of iced tea for all of us to drink! YOU ROCK!!!!


  3. Way to go Jay! Hang in there! You can do it! We knew you could! Its just like you to stick with something!


  4. Way to go Jay! Hang in there! You can do it! We knew you could! Its just like you to stick with something!


  5. Its just like you to stick with something! We knew you could! You can do it! Hang in there! Way to go Jay!

    BTW, the toughest part is over… 2 weeks… it’s like drugs. So, I really think you can make it now. The only way you’re going to cave is if you turn into some weak, loser sissy boy!

    Word.


  6. WOW. You are a better man than I.


  7. Way to go, Jay! You should celebrate with a nice cold, oh wait, that would defeat the purpose…..I’d go with Joselyn’s suggestion and drink a nice tall glass of Iced tea 🙂

    BTW, I joined the blogging world today. My page is kinda pathetic right now, but it will get there.

    Hope you feel better soon. We missed you today.


  8. As Kaleel would say, “You are a go- getter. You are a skilled Iron Worker.” HA-HA-HA.

    Babe, this is UNBELIEVABLE, simply AMAZING. Your progress…astonishing! 2 months! Congratulations. Do you want a prize?

    And, here’s my best cheer for you, “come-on-Jay, you-can-do-it, put-a-little-power-to-it!”

    Now,repeat after me, “I hate diet coke, it’s poison, it is evil, the enemy. Diet coke makes me throw-up. I will not be tempted to drink it.”


  9. Jay, rub their noses in your determination and do an endzone dance on their disbelieving words!!!


  10. Of course you can do it! You have the power of prayer to back you. I quit smoking 24 years ago. I know that the biggest hurdle is the first couple of months. You have that behind you.


  11. Of course you can do it! You have the power of prayer to back you. I quit smoking 24 years ago. I know that the biggest hurdle is the first couple of months. You have that behind you.


  12. Good for you- You need to know that from a health standpoint that stuff WILL kill you. Steer clear at all costs.


  13. Good for you- You need to know that from a health standpoint that stuff WILL kill you. Steer clear at all costs.


  14. Jay, please don’t give in. If you give in, I have the authority to TAKE THAT BRAND NEW LAPTOP from your shaking arms as you cry and weep in horor.

    Don’t give in.


  15. OH MY… if for no other reason than to keep your new laptop, Jay… keep it together, man!


  16. The hardest part is over. Good job!! Now you just have to cruise through to the finish. After 2 months, NOT drinking it has become a habit so just maintain and your golden. You can do it!!


  17. I once read that it takes 21 days to break a habit. So when I had to wear braces for 2 1/2 years and could not chew my nails, I figured when I got my braces off, habit would be broken. Not so…braces came off and nails got chewed. Hmmmmm…so much for 21 days.

    HOWEVER…I COULD NOT chew my nails, you could easily go to the store and grab Sin in a Can, but you have chosen not too…way to stick.



Leave a Reply

