h1

Knee saga

October 10, 2006

I love sports.  My knees don’t.  My left knee, while bending, sounds like a bowl of Rice Krispies.  My right knee…is like a stray cat.  It likes to wander around a lot, looking for other places besides home.  It decided to stray last Friday.  Now when I walk it feels like my right knee is suspended in a Jello mold. 

I’m 32 for crying out loud…is this normal??  I saw a knee doctor today.  Found out my options….

There was talk of major surgery, breaking bones, cutting things, months of months of rehab…etc.   

Or…I could just decide to never play basketball, ski, jump, or otherwise move any direction besides straight with any speed again for fear of my knee jumping overboard in protest….and then I could avoid surgery.

I think I’m going to go for it..

7 comments

  1. Yes. You are indeed a young’n. Because of that, it is the best time for surgery. You will heal up better and faster, than if you put it off until later. That doesn’t make it fun, though. Condolences and prayers for you, my friend!


  2. Surgery!!! Ugh! I’m sorry, friend.


  3. I’m sorry brother.


  4. btw… I think that after you have surgery, we should have a memorial service for your knees and celebrate your new ones… your new ones of titanium and gold.


  5. Dude that has got to suck…

    praying for ya…and go for it! Do what Ted would do!


  6. Did you know that babies don’t have kneecaps when they’re born. So, what you need is a baby leg joint transplant and then you can grow a new kneecap.


  7. Knees seem like they must be really complicated. It seems like the most common joint to get knocked out. My dad is convinced that my running will cause my knees to break down and I will never be able to walk again at some point. (He is 83 and on his second hip, but original knees). Sorry to hear about it. Will pray for healing.

    Dave



Leave a Reply

