h1

LONGING FOR

October 6, 2006

This morning I got up at 4:30am.  This wouldn’t be so bad, but last night my eyes shut for the last time at around midnight.  I’ve been getting up early on Wednesdays and Fridays to play basketball with a great group of guys at Cascade Athletic club.  I’ve been playing there for about a month now…TOTALLY enjoying it.  It is a really fun way to get some cardio in and get a jump start on the day. 

Two minutes into the first game today I dislocated my knee.  This is the 5th or 6th time I have had a minor dislocation since a major one I had in high school.  Ironically at the beginning of the month I had made an appointment with a knee doctor just to address major pain in both knees.  Now he’ll also be making sure I didn’t tear anything with this recent dislocation.

I left the gym fighting some immediate feelings of bitterness and disappointment, thinking that might be the last time I ever play basketball again.  Ironically last night I gave a devotion about how rich and blessed we are beyond comprehension because of God’s grace, regardless of our circumstances.  My own words rang around in my head saying… “do you really believe that God’s grace is enough?” 

My dumb knee and the loss of a favorite past time ranks pretty low with some issues you may be facing today.  Last night there was a women all alone in the sanctuary in the back with her head hung low praying as we were practicing.  At one point God prompted me to ask her if she was o.k.  She began to cry and share with me about her relationship with someone she loved.  He had been divorced, and she had as well, and now they were trying to put their lives back together as a new couple.  He has decided to step back and break it off with her for a  while and work on his relationship with God and some healing he still needs.  She knew of nothing else to do but to come to the church and cry to God about it.  She is a brand new Christian, doesn’t understand or get most of it yet, but knew enough to know that laying at the feet of Jesus was her best option at the moment. 

That’s our best option in any moment.  Laying at the feet of Jesus.  Longing for His company, longing for His appearance, longing for His presence.  This morning I read this from Paul to Timothy… (2 Timothy 4)

7I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

Those last words gripped my heart as I read them.  Lord, create in each of us a deep, unquenchable, undeniable, longing for Your appearing, not only at the end of time, but today, here, now. 

2 comments

  1. Jay! I hope you’re ok! I know how much you love basketball and I’m so sorry this happened… I finished reading the rest of your post, and it was beautiful.


  2. I will pray for your knee and the woman in the back of the church. They have been written my list and laid on my heart.



Leave a Reply

