h1

TUNE UP

September 15, 2006

Thumbtoyota_supra

That’s a picture of my new car.  I wanted something practical; just to get me from point A to point B.  O.K. seriously, that’s not my car, and recently I have discovered buying cars is no fun.  I guess it would be if money were no object, but when it is….the process is less enjoyable.   I keep waiting for Walmart to start selling cars but so far no luck. For now they just change my oil.  The problem is yes, it’s a cheap oil change, but I end up buying at least one thing I don’t need every time I’m there waiting for my car to get done.   Including donuts.   How did I go from cars to donuts so fast?  And why I am hungry?

I’ve always been supremely interested in how long a car will last.  Some cars with 100,000 miles are all but done, some are just warming up.   Shiny and fast means nothing if a car is in the shop. 

How many spiritual miles have you logged?  We all admire new, shiny Christians who are “on fire” and seemingly invincible in their faith.  But what about those who have been Christians for a while and have been through a few accidents?   What about you who have had countless door dings and fender benders in your faith?  And yes….to milk this analogy for all its worth…what about those who have neglected their maintenance to the point that their faith is sputtering and they are wondering if it will ever run like it did many miles ago?

Isaiah 40:28-31

28Have you never heard or understood? Don’t you know that the LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth? He never grows faint or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding. 29He gives power to those who are tired and worn out; he offers strength to the weak. 30Even youths will become exhausted and young men will give up. 31But those who wait on the LORD will find new strength. They will fly high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.

3 comments

  1. That’s one of my favorite Bible passages… and really just about the only passage I have memorized from the Bible. Hmmm… sad…


  2. Great, apt analogies, both here and Sunday morning!


  3. Spiritual maintenance is also cheaper and normally only requires the cost of a cup of coffee at Starbucks. Although, like your physical car, when you take your spiritual car in for maintenance to fix one thing you are aware of, frequently the mechanic will find several things that need adjusting or replacement. And these do cost WAY more than simply $$. But after the adjustments, you’re able to glide around those tight turns a little smoother and get better at straightening out from a slide on the wet/icy pavement. – I love car analogies 😉



Leave a Reply

