h1

imaginary friends

September 8, 2006

Not sure when it happened but suddenly Macy has an imaginary friend named Maleya.  We’re not sure how’s it’s spelled, Maleya doesn’t know.  And it’s not just that Macy talks to Maleya, it’s that Macy becomes Maleya and proceeds to let Allison and I know that we are no longer talking to Macy but Maleya. Maleya amazingly talks a little lower with a slight southern draw.  Here’s what Maleya has told us about herself.  She looks like Macy, but she is a year older and in the first grade.  She loves Macy’s mom and dad as much as Macy does.  That was good to know.

Cute for a while…but today I let her know in no uncertain terms that she can be Maleya if she wants to by herself in playtime, but that when mom or dad or others address her, she needs to respond as Macy. 

By the way, I’ve written this blog entirely as my own imaginary friend, please refer to me as David Hasselhoff.

One comment

  1. LOL, Hasselhoff! Seriously… i just laughed… more like CACKLED… outloud. You slay me!

    You know… Brian had an imaginary friend growing up named Gogan. However, he NEVER became Gogan. I think that’s called “multiple personalities”.



Leave a Reply

h1

imaginary friends

September 8, 2006

Not sure when it happened but suddenly Macy has an imaginary friend named Maleya.  We’re not sure how’s it’s spelled, Maleya doesn’t know.  And it’s not just that Macy talks to Maleya, it’s that Macy becomes Maleya and proceeds to let Allison and I know that we are no longer talking to Macy but Maleya. Maleya amazingly talks a little lower with a slight southern draw.  Here’s what Maleya has told us about herself.  She looks like Macy, but she is a year older and in the first grade.  She loves Macy’s mom and dad as much as Macy does.  That was good to know.

Cute for a while…but today I let her know in no uncertain terms that she can be Maleya if she wants to by herself in playtime, but that when mom or dad or others address her, she needs to respond as Macy. 

By the way, I’ve written this blog entirely as my own imaginary friend, please refer to me as David Hasselhoff.

3 comments

  1. This is a perfectly normal way to try on different roles and identities, at Macy’s age. It is not any different than trying on costumes and creating scenerios for story-lines, played out with friends. It helps to process information about other people and situations in a child’s world.

    Now about your imaginary friend, at your age, your coping skills must be lagging a bit . . . unlike Macy, you already get to be lots of different roles in a day . . . but with all with the same name attached! Perhaps it would be more fun if costumes got to change more with your varied roles! I have BOXES of costumes (now you know how I spend my day!)that are great for play therapy. ;o)


  2. Dear David:

    It’s odd…I have a neighbor girl named Malia (pronounced the same) but I know Mace has never met her. I’m wondering if I’ve ever mentioned her to Allison in front of Macy? Just seems like a unique name for her to create on her own…she’s such a crack up!

    Look for a postcard from Illinois and Indiana this week. I’m on my way out the door…=o)


  3. Ok David! LOL

    I have lots of secret imaginary friends around my house. I find myself sometimes talking to the water, or to the tree by my window etc. You thought you were strange.

    I really do this =D

    -Esther



Leave a Reply

