h1

Your most powerful weapon

August 18, 2006

When it comes to guns I’m all boy.  Toy_gun I’ve always loved them, for as long as I can remember.  I don’t own a real gun today, but I have friends who do, and who carry them concealed, and I’m still in awe and full of respect for the power that a loaded gun represents. 

Most of us have not been shot.  And most of us don’t carry loaded pistols under our shirts just in case.  But all of us have been wounded by what I consider our most powerful weapons that we carry, our tongues.   Think back over your life and wounds you received that you remember.  More often than not they have come from someone’s words, spoken with the force of a bullet to your heart.

Such power you hold with your tongue.  Power to cut down, discourage, destroy, belittle, embarrass, ruin.  Even withholding speech, suppressing your tongue can be a form of pain in someone’s life who needs your speech to show them love. 

I’m 32 and have been out of my parent’s house almost as long as I was in.  The other day my dad spoke to me words of affirmation, words of blessing, words of encouragement to me.  My soul drank them in. 

If you recorded everything you said today, what would it reveal about how you are using your most powerful weapon?

Proverbs 12:18:

    18 Reckless words pierce like a sword,
       but the tongue of the wise brings healing.

2 comments

  1. What? Is there something weird about me carrying around a concealed weapon? I’m little… I need protection.


  2. I was shot down, big-time, this past week. It hurts so much, especially, when it is someone whose opinion matters dearly to me. This is so relevant!



Leave a Reply

