h1

PATTERNS

July 14, 2006

Do you floss?  I do, for the first week after I get my teeth cleaned.  Sometimes I make it a little longer than that.  But always I think, “This time I’ll floss all the way until my next appointment!” It’s the same thing with my grandiose exercise plan at New Years. And the first day of Spring.   And Summer.  And so on.   Or my new found commitment to keep my dresser organized.  Eventually I’m right back to stuffing half folded shirts where my jeans are supposed to be, and then barely being able to push it closed.   Sometimes it seems my patterns are set in stone, incapable of real change.

Sin patterns are a whole let less lighthearted and a whole lot more depressing than dental floss.  We don’t like to talk about them.  We don’t like to think about them.  But they are there aren’t they?   Ever threatening, ever lurking, waiting to take us out, take us down, cripple, destroy, ruin. 

Are we doomed to live in sin patterns we can’t shake?  Is it only a matter of time before the addiction or destructive action of yesterday shows up today?   Sometimes it feels that way.  And that’s when you and I have to remind ourselves what God has said regarding this.   So I leave you with a few verses to ponder.

Romans 6:19 
I put this in human terms because you are weak in your natural selves. Just as you used to offer the parts of your body in slavery to impurity and to ever-increasing wickedness, so now offer them in slavery to righteousness leading to holiness.

Romans 6:6:
6For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body of sin might be done away with,[a] that we should no longer be slaves to sin—

1 Corinthians 10:13
No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.

Galatians 2:20
I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

Romans 6:18 
You have been set free from sin and have become slaves to righteousness.

2 comments

  1. Good thoughts Jay. I will ponder for sure…


  2. Hey bro really like the posting today



Leave a Reply

