h1

Gut Rut

June 23, 2006

Recently I’ve stumbled onto a few disturbing realities that have alarmed me to the point I feel it’s only fair to warn others sooner than later. 

*Apparently when you stop exercising, practice overeating like a sport, and trade water for Diet Coke, you grow out of your clothes and don’t feel very energetic.  I had often heard that theory but dismissed it as myth and urban legend until recently.

*Late night TV has a strange relationship with my ability to get up early.  I haven’t totally solved this correlation but I’m close.

*Telling myself I’m going to eat right and exercise tomorrow is better translated, “Today I have decided that I would like to destroy my body as quickly as possible.”  (I actually just made myself laugh writing that one.)

O.K. but seriously, I can joke about this, but now let me get real with you.  I have been on a roller coaster ride with my health and the way I take care of myself for as long as I can remember.  It’s been two steps forward, three back for well over a decade.  I sat in my office with a trusted friend this week and poured out my heart asking for prayer to be able to get control of my health in a way that honors God with the body He has given me.  I shake my head and marvel at my wife’s patience with the countless times I have gone cold turkey from sugar and caffeine, this time for good!  Am I alone?  Anybody reading this relate at all?

I’ve got no easy answers here, though I do have some comical diet plans I have made up for a laugh, but I’ll spare you.  What I do know deep down is that God does care how I treat myself.  I know He does long for me to be healthy and energetic.  I know I sadden Him when I turn to food instead of Him in times of anxiety or stress.  And so I know one of my options is not to give up forever.  And so tonight once again I’m asking God for forgiveness, and for His help in changing my mindset. I want to quit abusing my body and to view what I eat and how I exercise as an extension of my relationship with Him.  Anybody care to join me?

1 Cor 6:19 19Or don’t you know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself, 20for God bought you with a high price. So you must honor God with your body.

Romans 6:12-14  12Do not let sin control the way you live;[a] do not give in to its lustful desires. 13Do not let any part of your body become a tool of wickedness, to be used for sinning. Instead, give yourselves completely to God since you have been given new life. And use your whole body as a tool to do what is right for the glory of God. 14Sin is no longer your master, for you are no longer subject to the law, which enslaves you to sin. Instead, you are free by God’s grace.

2 comments

  1. I feel your pain brother. I’m with you! I just happen to be in a decent streak of good habits right now, but that could change at a moment’s notice. I had a Wilbur burger with fries at McMennamin’s last night…not exactly honoring of my relationship with God!

    We’ll me on mission in Mexico in just a couple of days, you and I. It’s a time to escape the noise of our lives and to focus on God. Sometimes that noise isn’t just the media distractions that are so prevelant in society, sometimes it’s other things…like food.

    I will pray for you and with you brother! Be strong in the Lord, and in His might and power! (Eph. 6:10)


  2. o man do i know what you are talkin bout here…..im a wrestler so i often have to struggle with what to eat or how to eat or even if to eat. its definatly an overlooked part of everyday life man



Leave a Reply

